Perseverance

In this season, I want to build my perseverance. Once that is unwavering, that will not falter when I am struck with criticisms or opposition. This can only be done so if I set my eyes on the prize.

Hebrews 10:19-25

A Call to Persevere in Faith

19 Therefore, brothers and sisters, since we have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus, 20 by a new and living way opened for us through the curtain, that is, his body, 21 and since we have a great priest over the house of God, 22 let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water. 23 Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. 24 And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, 25 not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

caravaggio_-_the_incredulity_of_saint_thomas

Caravaggio’s “The Incredulity of Saint Thomas

John 20:24-29

Jesus Appears to Thomas

24 Now Thomas (also known as Didymus[a]), one of the Twelve, was not with the disciples when Jesus came. 25 So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord!”

But he said to them, “Unless I see the nail marks in his hands and put my finger where the nails were, and put my hand into his side, I will not believe.”

26 A week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them. Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!” 27 Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.”

28 Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!”

29 Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”

Footnotes:

  1. John 20:24 Thomas (Aramaic) and Didymus (Greek) both mean twin.

We all have our “Doubting Thomas” moments. Being in the present and our shortsightedness causes us to derail from God’s will all the time. As much as there is a need for doubt in faith (doubt and faith are not complete opposites; it’s fear and faith.) I pray that I will learn to have more faith than doubt. (cause doubt is bloody waste of time and emotions HA.)

One thought on “Perseverance

Leave a comment